Research Fundamentals Presenters

Jerrilyn Cambron

Jerrilyn Cambron, PhD, LMT, DC, MPH

Dr. Jerrilyn Cambron is a Professor in the Department of Research at the National University of Health Sciences in Lombard, Illinois and adjunct faculty in the Epidemiology and Biostatistics Division of the School of Public Health at the University of Illinois at Chicago. Dr. Cambron is also an Associate Editor for the Journal of Bodywork & Movement Therapies and is President of the Massage Therapy Foundation. She has served as a Principal Investigator on research studies focused on massage therapy and chiropractic care for 20+ years. She has been an investigator on several projects funded by federal agencies including NIH and HRSA, and private foundations such as the Massage Therapy Foundation. Dr. Cambron is a member of the Research Working Group of the Academic Consortium for Complementary and Alternative Health Care (ACCAHC) and is on the Board of Directors of the Consortium of Evidence-Informed Practice Educators (CEIPE). Dr. Cambron has taught numerous research-related courses and post-graduate seminars including evidence-based practice, introduction to research and biostatistics, epidemiology, public health, practice-based research, critical appraisal of the literature, and writing case reports.

Lisa Hodge

Lisa Hodge, PhD

Dr. Lisa Hodge is an Associate Professor in the Department of Cell Biology and Immunology and holds a joint appointment with the Osteopathic Research Center at the University of North Texas Health Science Center. She is also the Basic Science Research Chair for the Osteopathic Heritage Foundation.  Her laboratory studies the role of the lymphatic system during infectious disease, inflammation and cancer. Dr. Hodge is on the Scientific Committee for the Fourth International Fascia Research Congress, a member of the editorial board for the Journal of the American Osteopathic Association, a member of the Louisa Burns Osteopathic Research Committee, the Osteopathic International Alliance, the Commission for Osteopathic Research Practice and Promotion, the Society for Experimental Biology and Medicine and the American Academy of Osteopathy.  She also serves as a peer reviewer for several research journals and study sections at the National Institutes of Health.  Her research is funded by the American Osteopathic Association, the Osteopathic Heritage Foundation and the National Institutes of Health.

Eric Jacobson

Eric Jacobson, PhD, MPH

Dr. Eric Jacobson is a research scientist who investigates alternative medicine at Harvard Medical School. He recently completed an NIH funded pilot clinical trial of Structural Integration as an adjunct to outpatient rehabilitation for chronic low back pain. Prior to this he worked on studies of the placebo effect and diagnostic reasoning acupuncture. His dissertation research investigated the experiences and traditional treatments of psychiatric illnesses among Tibetan refugees in northern India. Jacobson was trained by Ida Rolf in 1974 and has had a private practice of Structural Integration since then.

Ruth Werner

Ruth Werner, BCTMB

Ruth Werner is an educator, writer, and retired massage therapist with a passionate interest in massage therapy research and the role of bodywork for people who struggle with health. Her groundbreaking textbook, A Massage Therapist’s Guide to Pathology was first published in 1998, and is now in its 5th edition. She also writes a column for Massage and Bodywork magazine, serves on several national and international volunteer committees, and teaches continuing education workshops in research and pathology all over the world. Ruth was honored with the AMTA Council of Schools Teacher of the Year Award for 2005. She was also proud to serve as President of the Massage Therapy Foundation from 2010-2014, and she retains a seat as an MTF Trustee.